Why You Should Replace Microsoft Security Essentials With A Proper Antivirus

I don’t know if I broke a law of computing or committed heresy. But I installed Windows 10 on my Macbook Pro. I had feared that this would condemn me to purgatory in the gates of computing hell. But it has been an incredibly positive experience: my favorite Microsoft Office applications – Outlook, Word, and PowerPoint – work faster than ever before, and I can still use Apple peripherals – a Thunderbolt Display and Thunderbolt external hard drives. The best part is Windows 10 itself: it is a beautifully designed operating system that gives me the best of the past and present – maintaining the usability and familiarity of the old Windows operating system, and letting me download slick apps designed for tablets.

Best Buy will no doubt optimize your hard drive” by defragmenting it If you’re using a solid-state drive, you can skip the defragmenting entirely. If you’re using an older mechanical drive, you probably don’t have to worry about it because Windows runs defragmentation operations automatically on a schedule. If you want to defragment your hard drive on your own, just open the Disk Defragmenter tool and click the button to run a defragmentation operation.

For a few brief moments I enjoyed the crisp new look. Then I realized I could not access the two critical elements of computerdom on which my day depends: email, and Word documents. Not to worry. I’m only a few minutes away from the charming and super-capable Geek Squad folks at a nearby electronics place. I hereby salute & applaud my local Geek Squad. It took several exhausting hours – mainly because I tried to work with someone in Bangladesh who couldn’t restore my email – but the Geeks found my Word documents and a way I could send & receive email, even if files, address book etc were lost in cyberspace.

You’ll want to decide which panels should actually appear next. Go to Settings > Edge screen > Edge panels and you’ll see a list of options. The Apps Edge allows you to select your 10 favorite apps. People Edge enables you to choose five contacts. Tasks Edge allows you set up to 10 shortcuts to tasks, such as sending a text message to a specific contact or taking a selfie. There are many other options, including news, calendar, and weather panels. Check the box at the top if you want to include that panel. You can also download more options or reorder your panels via the links at the top of the screen.

I also have to say that I appreciate posts like this. They form a bridge between highly technical articles elsewhere that a novice like me can’t begin to understand, and articles too basic to provide enough information. In fact, I wouldn’t mind seeing some posts on things like the virtual machines and highly security conscious operating systems like the Lightweight Portable Security version of Linux, both of which sound intimidating to someone like me but which are incredibly easy to explore without damaging your system.

Leave a Reply

